Kenya National Innovation Agency Establishes a National Innovation Technical Committee

Lawrence Otieno - Communications & Marketing | 16 February, 2021

Featured Image: technical.jpg

The Kenya National Innovation Agency (KeNIA) has established a National Innovation Technical Committee that will help build a comprehensive and inclusive framework for nurturing startups at national scale and support in planning and execution of national activities coordinated by the agency.

The committee, set up by the agency’s Board of Directors, will advise and support the CEO and by extension the KeNIA board on a regular basis and help establish necessary linkages to assist the agency deliver on its mandate. The team comprises of; the KeNIA CEO, Dr. Tonny Omwansa, Dr. Shikoh Gitau, Dr. George Kosimbei, Tania Ngima, Ali Hussein, Florence Kimata, Jonas Tesfu, Harry Hare, Bernard Chiira, and Stephen Gugu.

Members of this committee will serve for a minimum of one year term and maximum term of three years. This is a voluntary opportunity to make a difference in the Kenya Innovation System, hence no compensation shall be provided for being part of the committee.

“We are excited to have the team volunteer their time in supporting the innovation and entrepreneurship drive that KeNIA is embarking on,” said Prof. Reuben Marwanga, Chairman of the KeNIA Board. “We are confident that their contribution will go a long way in making sure that we deliver on our mandate,” he continued.

The members of the committee span across different sectors including academia, investment, business development, management and startup mentorship and coaching. “We have diverse skillsets in the committee which gives us an opportunity to leverage not just on their skillsets but their diverse networks as well,” said Dr. Omwansa.

“I am humbled to serve in the technical committee of such an important agency in the startup and entrepreneurship ecosystem. Having worked in the ecosystem for the last ten years, I am looking forward to sharing lessons learnt that will propel our country into the next level,” said Harry Hare who will chair the committee.